Liz & Dick: The Best Twitter Reactions

TV Guide

Grant Bowler and Lindsay Lohan | Photo Credits: Adam Taylor/Lifetime

The fall television event everyone had been waiting for has come and gone, but it will live on in Twitter infamy forever.

Child Stars Gone Bad: Retrace Lindsay's rocky road to Liz & Dick

We're talking, of course, about Liz & Dick, the Lifetime movie starring Lindsay Lohan as Elizabeth Taylor, which premiered Sunday.

The film was overwhelmingly panned by critics and regular viewers alike, and even some celebrities — including Lohan herself — offered their thoughts via Twitter. Here's a roundup of some of the best celebrity tweets from the night:

Lindsay Lohan (@lindsaylohan): "@BeckySake 2 get 2 feel like 1 of the most amazing women in the world was a thrill all around & wearing the jewels wasn't bad! #LizandDick"

Sarah Colonna (@sarahcolonna): "If you missed #LizandDick, just watch "Showgirls" backwards."

Aimee Mann (@aimeemann): "I get the feeling the phrase "It is what it is" was said a lot in the editing room. #lizanddick"

Kathy Griffin (@kathygriffin): "Lindsay/Liz jewelry store scene = awkward."

Lindsay Lohan and Elizabeth Taylor: How similar are they?

Patton Oswalt (@pattonoswalt): "Tonight, the downward spiral becomes a straight, vertical line!" - Lindsay Lohan's weary, weary guardian angel #lizanddick"

Rachel Dratch (@therealdratch): "I've an unhealthy level of excitement for #lizanddick. Treating w/the reverence usually reserved for an old-school 70's "television event.""

Josh Groban (@joshgroban): "Who's winning, Liz or Dick?"

Bill Simmons (@billsimmons): "Liz and Dick will get a great rating. It's Train Wreck TV. Lifetime is brilliant. They should have Lindsay play Jackie O next."

Adam Shankman (@adammshankman): "Why does it feel like Liz and Dick, starting in one hour is like waiting for the Mayan Apocalypse..."

Mae Whitman (@maebirdwing): "The beginning is all I could have ever dreamed #lizanddick"

Jesse Tyler Ferguson (@jessetyler): "The day after "Liz & Dick" I just want to say: She's already down. Lets not kick her."

Perhaps the defining word on the movie, however, came from Taylor herself, whose Twitter account has remained online since her death in 2011. On July 22, 2010, Taylor tweeted in a series of posts: "Hold your horses world. I've been hearing all kinds of rumours about someone being cast to play me in a film about Richard and myself. No one is going to play Elizabeth Taylor, but Elizabeth Taylor herself. Not at least until I'm dead, and at the moment I'm having too much fun being alive...and I plan on staying that way. Happiness to all."

Did you watch Liz and Dick? What did you think?

View Comments